Sunday, March 24, 2013

Baskets From The Kingdom Of Lesotho

And in between something from my archive of "Africa's Past".

This old image dates back to the 1950's and is entitled" Basutos storing grain".

Basutoland or officially the Territory of Basutoland, was a British Crown colony established in 1884 after the Cape Colony's inability to control the territory. It was divided into seven administrative districts; Berea, Leribe, Maseru, Mohales Hoek, Mafeteng, Qacha's Nek and Quthing.
Basutoland was renamed the Kingdom of Lesotho upon independence from the United Kingdom on October 4, 1966.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails